I’ve Been Through Enough

Isaiah 55:8-9 KJV
For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. [9] For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

As a Christian Minister, I get a lot of questions and arguments about the Bible. People look for simple, satisfying answers, and when they don’t get them, they look at it as proof against Christianity.

I admit I am often tempted to try to water down or ignore certain parts of the Bible to make it more pleasing to myself and others. And when I am reminded of something that I don’t like or disagree with, doubt sometimes creeps in. I could probably come up with theories to explain away the unpleasantness, but many times I truly don’t have a legitimate answer.

However, then I think about everything God has done for me, and I cannot deny the relationship I have with Christ and Him Crucified. Some may think that is a copout. Maybe it is. But I think everyone (believers and unbelievers) faces this same problem.

Just because we may not like something doesn’t mean it isn’t true. Just because we don’t understand something doesn’t mean it isn’t right.

A person may not like what his parents do, but that doesn’t make them any less his parents. A person may not always understand the choices they make, but that does not necessarily mean he knows better than they do.

I do not understand everything in the Bible. I do not like everything in the Bible. But I’ve experienced enough to know God is real, Christ and Him Crucified saves, and the Holy Spirit leads. That is enough for me to trust that His Word is true and that He knows better than I do. And I’m pretty sure that is what faith is really all about.

“I’ve been through enough to know He’ll be enough for me. He’s come through too many times and that puts my mind at ease. I’ll stake my very life that He’s going to take care of me. For I’ve been through enough to know He’ll be enough for me.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

